Research Guides

Code

1. Author (Year) Uwe Flick (2014)
  Title An introduction to qualitative research - 5th ed.
  Abstract An Introduction to Qualitative Research guides students step-by-step through the qualitative research process. This classic text covers all of the main theoretical approaches to qualitative research, and provides unmatched coverage of the full range of different qualitative methods and approaches now available to researchers. A range of new features have been added to the new edition including: New structure to better meet the needs of teaching qualitative research ; A new chapter on Grounded Theory plus updated coverage on the full range of other qualitative methods ; A summary section discussing the state-of-the-art in qualitative research ; A glossary ; Updated cases studies, exercises and guided questions.-- from publisher website
  Source YCCC Library (BF76.5 F5713 2014)

Code

2. Author (Year) Craig A. Mertler (2014)
  Title Action research : improving schools and empowering educators – 4th edition
  Abstract This 4th edition introduces practicing educators to the process of conducting classroom-based action research. The book's practicality stems from its focus on research methods and procedures that educators can use with their everyday instructional practices, classroom activities, and school procedures. This new edition includes coverage of new topics like teacher empowerment and evaluation, Google Scholar, mixed-methods research designs, ethics and much more. The new edition also contains additional pedagogical tools such as Action Research Checklists, a new action research report in Appendix A, and six new developmental templates in Appendix C.--from publisher website
  Source YCCC Library (LB1028.24 M47 2014)

Code

3. Author (Year) Michael Hammond and Jerry Wellington (2013)
  Title Research methods : the key concepts
  Abstract This invaluable resource provides a comprehensive overview of the many methods and methodologies of social research. Each entry provides a critical definition and examines the value and difficulties of a particular method or methodology of concept across different fields of social research. Concepts include: - Action research - Chaos theory - Discourse analysis - Epistemology - Literature review - Interviewing - Social constructivism - World view. With thematic further reading stretching across the social sciences, Research Methods: The Key Concepts will help readers develop a firm understanding of the rationale and principles behind key research methods, and is a must-have for new researchers at all levels, from undergraduate to postgraduate and beyond.-- Publisher
  Source YCCC Library (H62 H23586 2013)

Code

4. Author (Year) Pam Denicolo, Lucinda Becker (2012)
  Title Developing research proposals
  Abstract Writing a research proposal is one of the most important tasks facing academics, researchers and postgraduate students. Yet there is a good deal of misinformation and a great lack of guidance about what constitutes a good research proposal and what can be done to maximise one's chances of writing a successful research proposal. Denicolo and Becker recognise the importance of developing an effective research proposal for gaining either a place on a research degree programme or funding to support research projects and set out to explore the main factors that that proposal writers need to attend to in developing successful proposals of their own. Developing Research Proposals will help readers to understand the context within which their proposal will be read, what the reviewers are looking for and will be influenced by, while also supporting the development of relevant skills through advice and practical activities. This book: - Explores the nature and purpose of different kinds of proposals - Focuses on the actual research proposed - Discusses how best to carry out and structure the literature review - Examines the posing and phrasing of research questions and hypotheses - Looks at how methods and methodology should be handled in a proposal - Discusses the crucial issues of planning, strategy and timing in developing targeted proposals -- Publisher
  Source YCCC Library (Q180.55 P7D45 2012)

Code

5. Author (Year) Martyn Denscombe (2010)
  Title The good research guide: For small-scales social research projects (4th ed.)
  Abstract The Good Research Guide 4/e is a practical and comprehensive guide for students in education, health studies, business studies and other social sciences, who need to conduct small-scale research projects as part of undergraduate, postgraduate or professional studies.
  Source http://books.google.com.hk/books/about/The_Good_Research_Guide.html?id=woS5P2Y6HFUC&redir_esc=y

Code

6. Author (Year) Angela Brew and Lisa Lucas (Eds.) (2009)
  Title Academic research and researchers
  Abstract University research is of central political, cultural and economic importance for nations and is currently the subject of considerable debate and discussion in universities worldwide. Research has become highly competitive though scarce resources. In recent years, research policies and strategies at different levels have called into question researcher autonomy, problematised academic freedom, created new disciplinary hierarchies, skewed publication rates and processes, created powerful ways to measure research outputs and demanded new working habits. 
This book is concerned with how individual researchers experience and respond to this scenario. It brings together research and scholarship examining the socio-political context of university research and explores how researchers' perceptions and identities are changed by political and cultural agendas for research. 
The book brings together the work of leading international scholars from different countries who have investigated theoretically and empirically the nature of research, research cultures and academic researcher identities. It brings together work that has hitherto only been reported in isolated and esoteric contexts internationally, thus consolidating the nature of research as an important field of study in its own right and providing important new understandings of how research is experienced in universities. A range of different theoretical positions taken by different authors is indicative of a lively and robust field of developing knowledge. 
  Source http://mcgraw-hill.co.uk/html/0335236065.html

Code

7. Author (Year) Helen Simons (2009)
  Title Case study research in practice
  Abstract Case Study Research in Practice explores the theory and practice of case study research. Helen Simons draws on her extensive experience of teaching and conducting case study to provide a comprehensive and practical account of how to design, conduct and communicate case study research. It addresses questions often raised by students and common misconceptions about case research. In four sections the book covers 
- Rationale, concept and design of case study research 
- Methods, ethics and reflexivity in case study 
- Interpreting, analyzing and reporting the case 
- Generalizing and theorizing in case study research
Rich with 'tales from the field' and summary memos as an aide-memoire to future action, the book provides fresh insights and challenges for researchers to guide their practice of case study research. 
This is an ideal text for those studying and conducting case study research in education, health and social care, and related social science disciplines. - Publisher 
  Source YCCC Library (H62 S476 2009)

Code

8. Author (Year) Kenneth D. Pimple (Ed.) (2008)
  Title Research ethics
  Abstract This volume includes more than 40 important articles on integrity and misconduct, biomedical research, the social and disciplinary contexts of science, research in the social sciences, the social responsibility of science and scientists, and other core issues in research ethics. A new introduction by the editor places these articles in their historical and conceptual context. The volume provides a rich library of resources, ideas and challenges in the ethics of research for any scholar concerned with such issues.
  Source http://www.ashgate.com/isbn/9780754626213

Code

9. Author (Year) Nick Moore (2006)
  Title How to do research : a practical guide to designing and managing research projects
  Abstract This new edition of Nick Moore's highly successful How to do Research offers an accessible guide to the complete research process. It focuses on the day-to-day requirements of project managing a piece of research right through from the formulation of the initial idea, to the development of a research proposal and then to the writing up and disseminating of results. Completely updated throughout, it also contains new and expanded sections on in-house research; the use of sub-contractors and market research companies; the use of the internet as a research tool; computer analysis of data; and ethical issues. The book provides practical help and guidance to anyone undertaking academic or social research, whether through work or study. Part One of the book follows a step-by-step guide to the research process itself. Part Two offers an introduction to some of the more common research methods, and takes the reader through the processes of collecting and analysing data, including sampling, surveys, interviewing, focus groups and capturing data. This book offers a wealth of invaluable guidance to both new and experienced researchers, presented in a clear, simple style. It is ideal for professionals undertaking research and the evaluation of services; for undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking dissertations and other research projects; and as an introductory text on research methods courses in any social science discipline.-- Publisher
  Source YCCC Library (Q180.55 M4M66 2006)